Your CSA survival guide


Being in the trucking world means that you’re subject to many regulations. The FMCSA takes safety seriously – they have the CSA, or Compliance, Safety, Accountability program. You might wonder how to navigate the program and how to excel in it. And that’s why we’ve created this CSA survival guide for trucking businesses.

Read more

Why are all crashes used regardless of a carrier’s accountability?

Crashes in Crash Indicator

The Safety Measurement System might seem like quite the mystery – how does it calculate and figure out its rankings and numbers, anyway? For trucking businesses, these rankings, including the Crash Indicator, are a big deal. Why are all crashes used in these calculations, even the ones where carriers are not at fault? It doesn’t seem fair. But it’s not as dire as it seems, and there is a reason for it. We’ll explain the reasoning behind using all crashes in the Crash Indicator.

Read more

What are the different types of FMCSA investigation?

FMCSA intervention

In addition to requiring roadside inspections of all commercial vehicles, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) operates the Compliance, Safety, and Accountability (CSA) program. This program oversees driver and motor carrier intervention and investigation. The primary purpose of CSA is to research the reasons for safety violations, recommend solutions to improve driver behavior and eliminate violations, and encourage specific corrective actions.

If a driver with a poor inspection report fails to comply with the recommendations for improvement, the CSA will step in and impose strong penalties for non-compliance. The CSA monitors and enforces three levels of intervention known as early contact, investigation, and follow-on. We’ll focus on the investigation efforts the FMCSA can take and explain the different types of investigation they might conduct.

Read more